Traveler's Edition icon
Traveler's Edition
  •   < 1 min read

As of January 22, 2018 new regulations implemented by the TSA will come into effect meaning that residents of 9 states will no longer be able to travel with their driver’s license alone.

The TSA has announced new regulations set to come into effect January 22, 2018, which will require that all forms of ID used to pass TSA checkpoints are compliant with REAL ID Act of 2005.

The REAL ID Act sets out minimum security standards for state issued forms of identification. Currently, IDs from nine states do not meet those standards: Kentucky, Maine, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, and Washington.

As a result, travelers from these states will be required to use alternative forms of ID from 2018, including for domestic travel – such as a passport, military ID or permanent resident card.

For the immediate future, there’s no need to panic: your driver’s license will still be accepted throughout 2017 and until the changes come into effect in January 2018. For more information, check out the TSA website.

IMG: Shutterstock

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

footer logo
Made with for you