Traveler's Edition icon
Traveler's Edition
  •   < 1 min read

According to new rules revealed today, large electronic devices have been banned on a number of flights from the Middle East. 

New TSA requirements mean that passengers traveling on flights to the U.S. from 10 airports across 8 countries, primarily located in the Middle East, will not be allowed to carry any electronic device on board which is larger than a cellphone.

That means electronic devices such as laptops, cameras, tablets and more will need to travel in checked baggage.

Flights departing from airports in countries including Saudi Arabia, Qatar and the United Arab Emirates (U.A.E), will be affected by the electronics ban while a total of 9 airlines will be impacted.

The airports affected are: 

  • Queen Alia, Jordan
  • Cairo International, Egypt
  • Ataturk International, Turkey
  • King Abudlaziz, Saudi Arabia
  • King Khalid, Saudi Arabia
  • Kuwait International, Kuwait
  • Mohammaed V, Morocco
  • Doha International, Qatar
  • Dubai international, UAE
  • Abu Dhabi international, UAE

More details should follow, with the ban’s official announcement expected tomorrow (March 22) by the Department of Homeland Security.

The affected airlines are: 

  • Royal Jordanian
  • Egypt Air
  • Turkish Airlines
  • Saudi Arabian Airlines
  • Kuwait Airways
  • Royal Air Maroc
  • Qatar Airways
  • Emirates
  • Etihad Airways

Airlines have 96 hours, from 07:00 GMT on Tuesday March 21, to introduce the measures; it is not known how long the ban will be in place. For more information, we recommend checking with your airline before departure.

IMG: Shutterstock

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

footer logo
Made with for you